Seven Years

Seven years. Seven years. I find it so hard to comprehend how it is seven years since Leonard departed. Seven years, but feels like yesterday. The pain as raw as ever. The gratitude profoundly strong as ever. Leonard continues to influence me, every single day. I think it is probably safe to say he will be the most influential person for the rest of my time on planet Earth. However, in saying that my heart is not closed to new influences, new music, new poetry, more wisdom. I’m always opened to new creative occupations.

For now, and forever I’m eternally grateful for all the gifts we received, and continue to receive. I’m still finding lines of songs I’ve know for years will suddenly be highlighted, and bring new meaning. It is the case with the line I’ve used on this photo from Crazy To Love You. I haven’t listened to this song in a few weeks, but for some reason all day yesterday it was swirling around my brain. I was spending a day with nature, soaking up the stunning autumnal colours which in itself draws me to the line from A Thousand Kisses Deep, ” The autumn moved across your skin, got something in my eye, a light that doesn’t need to live, and doesn’t need to die”

Leonard has permeated my soul. To clarify, I don’t believe I have any greater understanding of his work than anyone else, but only that it is in my soul. This also leads me to a memory of when I first met him, and I told him his music, and poetry caressed my soul. He told me he loved that.

I’m going to spend today remembering all the good times, and listen to his songs. Maybe tonight I’ll watch Live in Dublin, or maybe I will save it for Friday, for I like to reminese on the 11th too, because that was the day we found out he had departed. For now all is left for me to say is, Leonard, thank you for the memories.

Leave a comment