Fan Dinner in New York

Apologies for the serious delay with this post! I had it ready to post shortly after returning from New York so no excuses as to why I am only posting it now except to say live Cohen withdrawal symptoms is the only excuse 😉

When in New York there was a fan dinner organised by Dick Straub and his wife Linda for the night before the first concert on April 5th in a wonderful restaurant called East of Eight which is beside The Chelsea Hotel. Before the dinner I took the opportunity to take a couple of photos outside the hotel.

The Chelsea Hotel The Chelsea Hotel

After this it was time to go join everyone else in the restaurant and it was great meeting up with friends I’d met before and also to meet new friends. We were joined on the night by the wonderful Sylvie Simmons who with Ali Hugh’s and Brett Avery treated us to their renditions of Leonard’s songs before, between courses and after our dinner. Sylvie has written my favourite to date biography of Leonard so it was a pleasure to meet and speak with her and I also enjoyed my conversations with Ali and Brett. Apologies for the quality of these photos. I didn’t want to use the flash and blind you all!!

Sylvie Ali and Sylvie Brett Sylvie, Ali and Brett

Also in attendance was Leonard’s sister Esther Cohen. It was a privilege to meet and speak to this wonderful lady who told me when I asked for permission to publish the photo of us on this site said she was honoured that we allowed her be part of our experience. I replied that we are the honoured ones.

Esther Gwen and Esther

After the wonderful dinner and music and speaking with friends and our special guests there was one more treat in store where it had being arranged by Dick for us to get a look inside The Chelsea Hotel. The hotel is currently closed for renovations so to be able to have this glimpse inside was precious and is a wonderful memory to have.

Gwen in The Chelsea Hotel

I’d like to say thank you to Dick and Linda for organising this wonderful night, to Sylvie, Ali and Brett for the entertainment, to Mandy for taking the photos of me with Esther and of me inside The Chelsea Hotel and Esther for being so kind and gracious when I spoke with her.

4 thoughts on “Fan Dinner in New York

  1. Judy Reed says:

    What a wonderful experience, thank you for sharing.

  2. Tony Crosbie says:

    Thank you Gwen for sharing this wonderful experience for you.

  3. lecoraga says:

    Thanks for sharing Gwen, I love reading your blog!

  4. Thanks for the comments friends. Glad you enjoyed this post even though it is ridiculously late 🙂

Leave a Reply

